The Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) was passed into California law in fall of 2014 and took effect in January 2015. SGMA requires that state-designated medium and high-priority basins and sub-basins must form a groundwater sustainability agency and develop a long-term GSP. In Kern County, the designated basins/sub-basins are Indian Wells Valley Sub-basin, Kern County Sub-basin, and Cuyama Valley Basin. These basins must comply with SGMA.

General Information


Water Management Planning Tool 

California Water Commission Approved Groundwater Sustainability Plan Regulations

Groundwater Resource Sustainability: Modeling Evaluation for the Naval Air Weapons Station in China Lake                                   

Indian Wells Valley Groundwater Sustainability Plan (IWVGSP) Homepage Created by Stetson Engineers

California Statewide Groundwater Elevation Monitoring (CASGEM)


CASGEM mandates a statewide groundwater elevation monitoring program to track seasonal and long term trends in priority groundwater basins in California.

Map showing unmonitored CASGEM groundwater basins

List identifying fully and partially unmonitored CASGEM priority basins

CASGEM status designation in Kern County:

  • Cuyama Valley groundwater basin - partially monitored
  • Indian Wells Valley groundwater basin - fully monitored 
  • Kern County groundwater sub-basin - partially monitored 

Contact Information


If you have any questions or concerns related to sustainability groundwater in the Indian Wells Valley area, contact: 

Ron Strand - Acting General Manager, Indian Wells Valley Groundwater Authority




Lauren Duffy - IWVGA Clerk of the Board of Directors



Board Members & Staff


Chairwoman Peggy Breeden - City of Ridgecrest

Vice-chair Peter Brown - Indian Wells Valley Water District

Director Matt Kingsley - Inyo County

Director Mick Gleason - Kern County

Director Bob Page - San Bernardino County

Commander Brian Longbottom - Department of the Navy*

Ryan Klausch - Bureau of Land Management (BLM)*

(*Indicates non-voting members)

Ron Strand - Acting General Manager 

Steve Johnson - Water Resources Manager

Keith Lemieux - Board Counsel

Ricca Charlon - City of Ridgecrest

Lauren Duffy - Clerk of the Board